Slow Cooker Mac N Cheese

As a house warming gift I received a slow cooker and I was excited to start using it. The first recipes I tried were mainly chilis or soups that you dump a bunch of ingredients into, however, I haven’t found any recipes for those that I have been drawn to try again.

I am a sucker for some good comfort food, especially mac and cheese. Mac and cheese brings back fond memories of my childhood. Growing up my dad and I would make Kraft Dinner when it was just us for dinner or we were out camping. My dad isn’t as well versed in the kitchen as my mom, but he can make a mean KD!

As much as I love Kraft Dinner, it wasn’t something i wanted to have all the time. I also wanted to find a comfort food that I can make in my crock pot to essentially set it and forget it while I am studying or finishing assignments. I luckily stumbled upon another blog: A Year of Slow Cooking. This site is filled with awesome slow cooker meals and I ended up wanting to bookmark almost every recipe. This blogger had a mac and cheese recipe and it was so easy with minimal ingredients: Milk, cheese, egg, macaroni, salt, pepper, and dried mustard. I ended up using a squeeze of dijon mustard because I didn’t have dried mustard and tex mex cheese to give it a kick!

I love this recipe because the ingredients are simple staples that you are likely to have in your pantry or fridge, its easy to make, and doesn’t take long to prepare. I also could start the crock pot when I get home and not have to wait hours for it to be ready (in case I forget to start it when I head to school). Here is the recipe: “CrockPot Macaroni and Cheese Recipe“.

Leave a Reply

