Hot Spot for Hot Pot

Hot pot is one of my favourite dining experiences and I usually do it with my family at home; however, I have been trying to find a hot pot place in Calgary. For Chinese New Year my boyfriend and I went out with his colleagues to 1 Pot. This was my first experience trying hot pot at a restaurant as well as my first experience trying hot pot in Calgary.

Usually when we do hot pot we cook in a large pot and split the broth and the cooked contents into individual bowls. This experience was different because 1 Pot gives each diner their own individual hot pot in front of them. This is very convenient and great for IMG_2072going with a group of people you may not want to eat in a more of a family style dining experience. It is also great that you do not have to all agree on one type of broth, for example, I ordered a spicy broth, someone at my table did not want spice, and another ordered the tomato broth.

After choosing your broth you decide on your protein, a drink, and any extras you would like to add (i.e. more noddles or meat). The hot pot experience at 1Pot is a great value. For under $20.00 you receive an individual pot, a drink, and several ingredients to put into your pot. Some of the ingredients include shrimp, shrimp balls, meat balls, assorted veggies, your choice of protein, and vermicelli noodles. I ordered extra noodles because I wanted some udon noodles as well but I thought there was more than enough food if you do not want to order extra.

Overall, I had a great time for my first hot pot experience and look forward to trying more hot pot locations in Calgary! If you have any suggestions, please let me know.

IMG_2068

Leave a Reply

